## New Hartford Public Schools Board of Education <u>Special</u> Meeting (Virtual Only) Tuesday April 2, 2024 @ 5:30PM

**PRESENT:** Superintendent Jeffrey Sousa; Chairman Timothy Klepps; Vice Chairman Thomas Buzzi **Members:** Meagan Albert; Timothy Russell; Deirdre Tindall; Kristin Young; and Recording Secretary Elizabeth Domas.

ABSENT: Board Secretary/Member Penny Miller; and Board Member Frank Rodenberg.

Chair to Open Meeting: @ 5:35PM the meeting was called to order by Chairman Timothy Klepps.

## 1. Pledge of Allegiance

## 2. 2024-2025 Budget - Vote to Approve Budget for Public Hearing

Chairman Timothy Klepps summarized for the Board Members present at this meeting the discussion that was had regarding the placement of the Excess Cost Grant (ECG) in the budget at Board of Finance meeting Friday March 29, 2024. Kerry Guilfoyle the Board of Finance Chairwoman would like the New Hartford School budget to be presented with and without the Excess Cost Grant. Thomas Buzzi and Deirdre Tindall expressed their concerns regarding the decision made on the Excess Cost Grant by the Board of Finance. Additionally noted, currently there are 37 incoming Kindergarten students, which requires three sections. Per Board of Education policy there can be a maximum 18 students per teacher. Timothy Russell inquired about incentives for early retirement to avoid cutting a Kindergarten teacher, which he is not in favor of. Superintendent Jeffrey Sousa stated a process like so would require a lot of planning and there is not enough time for this to happen. Thomas Buzzi stated his concern with the up and down employment and how this may cause turmoil for the future, this may set a precedent. If the budget is not voted on by the Board of Education at tonight's meetings, the budget will go to Public Hearing tomorrow April 3, 2024, anyway.

**MOTION** by Kristin Young to approve the 2024-2025 budget at \$9,964,530.59, an increase of \$546,480.27 equaling a 5.80% increase, for presentation at Public Hearing on April 3, 2024, as presented without the \$130,000 Excess Cost Grant (ECG). Second by Timothy Klepps.

Aye: Thomas Buzzi, Timothy Klepps, Deirdre Tindall, Kristin Young

Nay: Meagan Albert, Timothy Russell

Abstained:

(4-2-0) Motion Passes

## 3. Adjournment

**MOTION** by Thomas Buzzi to adjourn the meeting at 6:03PM. Second by Kristin Young.

UNANIMOUS *Motion Passes* 

Respectfully submitted by, Elizabeth Domas, Recording Secretary

Recorded Regular and Special Board of Education meetings will be posted to: <a href="https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCX-ZlomWmjG81dc">https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCX-ZlomWmjG81dc</a> QM3rfg