Town of New Hartford Special Town Meeting July 11, 2013 Ann Antolini Elementary School 7:00 PM

First Selectman Dan Jerram called the meeting to order at 7:10PM. He opened the floor to nominations for Moderator. Motion Troy LaMere, second Judith Jones to nominate Daria Hart for moderator. Motion Alesia Kennerson, second Jim Fitzgerald to nominate Reggie Smith, Jr. for moderator.

Motion Janet Corey, second Judith Jones to vote for moderator by paper ballot. First Selectman Jerram asked for a show of hands on the motion to vote for moderator by paper ballot. Motion defeated. Hearing no other nominations, First Selectman Jerram called for a motion to close nominations. Motion Alesia Kennerson, second Lang Mussen to close nominations. First Selectman Jerram called for a vote for Moderator by show of hands. Reg Smith, Jr. was elected Moderator.

Moderator Reggie Smith, Jr. read the call of the meeting and the Return of Posting and Publication.

Town of New Hartford Notice of A Special Town Meeting

The Board of Selectmen of the Town of New Hartford, CT hereby notifies all electors and citizens entitled to vote in Town Meetings in said Town of New Hartford, that a Special Town Meeting will be held on Thursday, July 11, 2013 at 7:00 PM at the Ann Antolini Elementary School located at 30 Antolini Road in New Hartford, CT for the following purposes:

- 1. Upon the petition of 36 electors and citizens entitled to vote in Town Meeting to take such action as the voters deem best with respect to the adoption of rules and regulations governing the use of Town Parks. The proposed Rules and Regulations are on file and available for inspection in the Office of the New Hartford Town Clerk, 530 Main Street, New Hartford, CT.
- 2. To elect one member to serve on the Stanclift Cove Authority for a three year term, term to expire June 30, 2016

Dated at New Hartford, Connecticut this 2nd day of July, 2013.

Board of Selectmen, Daniel V. Jerram Alesia R. Kennerson John H. Casey

RETURN OF POSTING AND PUBLICATION OF NOTICE OF SPECIAL TOWN MEETING

I, Daniel V. Jerram, First Selectman of the Town of New Hartford, Connecticut, hereby certify that I caused a copy of the foregoing Notice of the Special Town Meeting to be posted on the Town signpost on Wednesday, July 3, 2013 and also published in the <u>Hartford Courant</u>, a newspaper published in Hartford, Connecticut and having a general circulation in the Town of New Hartford, on Saturday, July 6, 2013.

Dated this 11th day of July, 2013

Daniel V. Jerram, First Selectman

ITEM NUMBER 1: Upon the petition of 36 electors and citizens entitled to vote in Town Meeting to take such action as the voters deem best with respect to the adoption of rules and regulations governing the use of Town Parks. The proposed Rules and Regulations are on file and available for inspection in the Office of the New Hartford Town Clerk, 530 Main Street, New Hartford, CT.

Moderator Smith asked Barbara Coppinger, the circulator of the petition (Attachment 1) to present the proposed rules. Barbara asked Heinz Beier to speak in her behalf. Heinz read the proposed rules and regulations (Attachment 2) and stated it was the intent of the petitioners to cause the Town Meeting to adopt a set park rules that could would be enforceable (based on Town Attorney Roraback's letter of March 4, 2013 - Attachment 3) and apply equally to all.

Motion Jim Fitzgerald, that the Town of New Hartford's Legislative Body created a Recreation Commission ordinance first approved at a town meeting on April 24, 1967 and later amended on June 28th, 1986 and further amended with the effective date of April 22, 1994 and any rules approved outside of this ordinance would create unenforceable conflicts and therefore it is resolved that the petition submitted to the Town of New Hartford's Town Clerk, stamped and dated July 3, 2013 at 4:30pm requesting to adopt and consider rules governing the use of Town parks is hereby denied. Second Alesia Kennerson.

Maria Moore stated that the intent is to have enforceable rules so everyone knows where they stand.

Moderator Smith asked First Selectman Jerram to address the issue of the conflict should we have two sets of park rules. Dan Jerram stated that when the Recreation Commission was established by ordinance (Attachment 4) it was given the authority to establish rules and regulations for the parks. If we adopted these proposed rules, which are different that the Park rules endorsed by the Recreation Commission, we would then have two different sets of rules. This was a situation which the Town attorney said would be problematic.

Daria Hart pointed out that at this meeting the body has the opportunity to amend these proposed rules as necessary and put in place a set of enforceable rules.

Mike Maloney made a motion to call the question. Penny Miller seconded.. The moderator called for a show of hand on the motion to call the question. Aye -232. Nay 48. Motion carried.

Judith Jones asked if we could verify that all who voted were residents, but withdrew the question upon consideration.

Moderator Smith then called for a vote by show of hands on the motion by Jim Fitzgerald to deny the park rules submitted by petition. Aye 218. Nay 53. Moderator Smith declared the motion to deny approved.

First Selectman Jerram proposed that the body present consider the rules that the Recreation Commission has endorsed (Attachment 5). Moderator Smith responded that since it was not on the call of the Special Town Meeting it would not be allowed.

ITEM NUMBER 2: To elect one member to serve on the Stanclift Cove Authority for a three year term, term to expire June 30, 2015.

Moderator Smith asked for nominations from the floor. Motion Alesia Kennerson to nominate Penny Miller. Second Jim Fitzgerald.

Motion Ken Krohner to close nominations. Second Steve Roth. Motion to close nominations approved unanimously.

Moderator Reggie Smith called for a vote on the nomination of Penny Miller to serve on the Stanclift Cove Authority. Unanimously approved by voice vote.

Motion Ken Krohner to adjourn. Second Bob Howson. Motion carried unanimously. Moderator Reggie Smith declared the meeting adjourned at 7:50pm.

A True Copy
Donna LaPlante, Town Clerk